RSS

My Faith Phone Charger

23 Oct

I am very blessed to have a job that I love. It fills my heart and my spirit with joy and gratitude.  I learn something valuable everyday behind those prison walls.

Yet, there are many days the weight of it all bears down on me.  My head hangs because sometimes it is just too exhausting to simply hold it up.  My shoulders feel as they carry the burden of every man I meet behind the iron curtains.  My heart…my heart. Pieces of it everywhere.

I am dealing with many men that have been abused and neglected most of their lives.  They lack a family, an education, and basic life skills.  They have trust issues, addictions, impulsive natures, rage, violent tendencies, and on and on.

Many of them need counseling, medication, love, and support.  Few have any of those things. Many of them will NEVER have any of those things.  They are a statistic.  They will relive the cycling lifestyle of the streets, followed by prison, and revolve until that lifestyle eventually kills them. Few will notice. Even less will care.

I suffer from a condition I have had since childhood.  I refer to it as a bleeding heart. It causes me chronic spiritual pain.

Due to all of this, I feel worn out,  I have tried a few times to write the past couple of days….but each effort was a FAIL.  When you give and give, you become depleted. That is a natural cycle.

God is reminding me to slow down.  It is time to recharge.  Time to plug my faith batteries in and let the charging…I mean, HEALING begin.

Blessings to all of you.  Thank you for taking the time to read my words.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “My Faith Phone Charger

  1. Danielle

    October 23, 2013 at 12:06 am

    Everybody has to recharge every now and then. I hope you get plenty of rest and come back feeling great.

     
    • prisonprincess

      October 23, 2013 at 12:07 am

      Thank you! I am working on it 🙂

       
      • Danielle

        October 23, 2013 at 12:11 am

        Good to hear

         
  2. Rose

    October 23, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    As someone who worked in an all-female prison for three years, working solely with the mentally ill, I get what you’re saying. That job can take it out of you, for sure. There were times when I would take a long weekend, just to get away from it all for awhile. If you want to last in that position, you have to take care of yourself before all of things. My best to you. You’re doing good work.

     
    • prisonprincess

      October 23, 2013 at 10:46 pm

      Thank you Rose! Very sound advice indeed!

       

Leave a comment